top of page

Porsche Carrera Cup Benelux: 2022 celebrated in style!

• The 2022 season will be the tenth season for the Porsche Carrera Cup Benelux

• The calendar was presented on Friday during the Awards Night

• Six circuits on the menu, with a clear Benelux touch

• Who will be the successors of Dylan Derdaele, Floris Dullaart and Jan Lauryssen?

After the extraordinary award ceremony – also known as Awards Night – the 2021 season of the Porsche Carrera Cup Benelux was definitively referred to in the history books on Friday evening. With some twenty new Porsche 911 GT3 Cup Type 992 on every starting grid and a title fight that was nail-bitingly exciting until the last round of the championship, the 2021 edition can certainly be credited with golden letters.

That last look in the rear-view mirror was mainly to put the winners of the Porsche Carrera Cup Benelux, Porsche Endurance Trophy Benelux and the Porsche Sprint Trophy Benelux in the spotlight. However, it also looked to the future, with the presentation of the 2022 calendar of the Benelux Cup.

The next edition of the fastest mono brand cup in the Benelux will also be very special. “It will indeed be the tenth season for our Porsche Carrera Cup, which was created in 2013 under the name Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge,” says a delighted Series Manager Olivier Aerts. “To celebrate this anniversary in style, we put together a program that completely fits our DNA, with prestigious meetings and a clear emphasis on the Benelux. We will compete on six different circuits, with the four of the best tracks from Belgium and the Netherlands. We have added a trip to the Spanish sun, towards Barcelona, ​​and a final in the context of the prestigious DTM in Hockenheim. There was already a lot of interest from both the teams and the drivers. It should therefore be clear that the tenth season of the Porsche Carrera Cup Benelux already looks promising.”

As tradition has it, the season will be kicked off as part of the FIA ​​WEC Endurance World Championship, from 5 to 7 May at the Spa-Francorchamps circuit. Five weeks later, Circuit Zolder will be the setting for a second Belgian stage from June 10 to 12, as part of the very varied Supercar Madness meeting. The Porsche Carrera Cup Benelux will undoubtedly set itself up as the reference when it comes to monomeric cups in the Benelux.

Afterwards, the participants are presented with a double Dutch program. From 24 to 26 June, the ADAC GT Masters will take place at Circuit Zandvoort, after which it will head to the TT Circuit of Assen for Jack's Racing Day. Formerly known as Rizla Racing Days, this meeting provides an entertaining mix of racing cars and motorcycles and is one of the most popular race weekends in the Netherlands. From August 5 to 7, tens of thousands of fans are expected in the 'Cathedral of Speed'.

At the end of the holidays it is time to head south again. Between August 26 and 28, the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya is on the agenda, accompanied by the European Le Mans Series. Finally, Hockenheim – with the unmissable DTM final – will close the anniversary year of the Porsche Carrera Cup Benelux from 7 to 9 October.

Who will be the successors of champions Dylan Derdaele (general), Floris Dullaart (Pro-Am) and Jan Lauryssen (Am) at the end of the 2022 season? Answer in… 316 days!

Calendar 2022 Porsche Carrera Cup Benelux

TBC: Official Test Day – Spa-Francorchamps (B)

05-07/05/2022: FIA WEC – Spa-Francorchamps (B)

10-12/06/2022: Supercar Madness – Zolder (B)

24-26/06/2022: ADAC GT Masters – Zandvoort (NL)

05-07/08/2022: Jack's Racing Day – Assen (NL)

26-28/08/2022: ELMS v Barcelona (ESP)

07-09/10/2022: DTM – Hockenheim (GER)*

*Subject to approval by ITR

669 views0 comments


bottom of page